Telephone: (30) 210 6047722-5

Understanding Report Levels

Our report grades are based on National Curriculum Levels in relation to age-related expectations.

The National Curriculum is accompanied by a series of eight levels at Key Stages 1, 2, and 3. These are used to measure your child's progress compared to pupils of the same age across the UK. The lowest level is Level 1, which describes the achievements of children at around the age of five. The highest is Level 8, which is attained by the most able pupils at the age of 14. There is also a description of 'exceptional performance' above Level 8, which only a very few pupils are expected to reach. The letter 'P' is an indicator of possible need for additional learning support.

It is expected that the majority of 11-year-old children will achieve Level 4 by the end of Year 6. This is the level the UK government consider the minimum required for pupils to be able to access the Secondary School curriculum successfully.

Each level is divided into three sub levels, for example 3a, 3b and 3c.

  • c means that the child has started to work at the level
  • b means that the child is working well within the level
  • a means that the child has reached the top of the level and is working towards the next level.

Children are expected to work their way through one level every two years, so progressing 1.5 sub levels every year. For example, a child working at level 2b in Year 2 would be expected to reach 3b in Year 4. Attainment above the 'expected level' is exceptional and below is cause for concern.




back to top

International Associations & Accreditations

BSO-s  AoBSO logo vertical RGB cropped  Accredited RGB small1  ISA    University of Cambridge  Edexcel  ocr   UCAS logo ppuk small strap    logo-she

Offcanvas Module

Our themes are built on a responsive framework, which gives them a friendly, adaptive layout